What Are The 12 Months Of The Hebrew Year ? Part 1

The Hebrew year includes the moon cycle and the sun cycle. The moon year has 355 days Gematria of שנה (year in Hebrew), while the sun year has 365 days as the same number of tendon (שס”ה) we have in a human body, this is to imply the relation between the light of the sun and the white color of tendon.

Tishrei תִּשְׁרֵי  is the first month of the Hebrew year, that is ascribed to the creation of the universe. Since Tishrei תִּשְׁרֵי  is composed of the letters בְּרֵאשִׁית  (genesis).

As you surely noticed the new Hebrew year starts in the autumn, usually around equinox when there is equality between day and night.

The second month is Chesh-van חשוון a month when, in biblical times the big flood started, and this this month we pray for rain.

The third month is Kislev כִּסְלֵו  in it we celebrate Hanuka and we light the Hanukia, also known as Hanuka’s Menorah: This time of the year is equivalent to the deep winter when the hours of the day are limited and short.

The forth month is Tevet טֵבֵת when we have hail known as barad בָּרָד.

The fifth is Shvat שְׁבָט, o the 15th day of Shvat, which is also a full moon we celebrate Tu Bishvat, which is the head of the new year to the trees. We bless the fruit and their giver, connecting the fruit to the tree, and to the seed of the tree, which comes from heaven.

The sixth month is Adar אֲדָר, in it we celebrate Purim פּוּרִים as a big parade of customs and colors, we are reading the Book of Esther מְגִלַּת אֶסְתֵּר: we also drink wine until we can’t distinguish between good and bad anymore to imply that life is beyond reason, and we give gifts to the poor.

12 months

free book
Free Download